Press "Enter" to skip to content

Couples Therapist Reviews Romantic Comedies


J clap again no hi i’m saba rooney Lurie I’m a licensed Marriage and Family Therapist and a board-certified art therapist I’m the owner and founder of take root therapy a group psychotherapy practice in Los Angeles California today I’m going to be reviewing some couples and romantic comedies no don’t pull that with me don’t even try it this is not how you treat your friend what I saw in that segment was how difficult it can be gonna be in a relationship with someone when you’re starting off oftentimes our attachment stuff will come up so we may think we really want a relationship and when it shows up it can be really overwhelming I like you Tom I just don’t want to what you’re not the only one who gets a say in this and often times to we are really clear about what we don’t want and yet we might engage in behaviors or in a relationship that is outside of that realm so I imagine most of us can really connect with that feeling of but you’re showing me something different it was confusing to me to hear her say I don’t want a relationship and then have her show up at this guy’s door so if I had to guess at this relationship within the last I would suspect that it’s not just because it seems like they’re both on different pages at the go but if one person is saying I don’t want a relationship and one person is saying but we’re in one it can be really difficult to move forward from that I’m sorry imagine your husband bought a gold necklace and come Christmas gave it some day we all want to think that when we’re in a relationship that if we agree to be in a monogamous exclusive relationship that’s why it’s going to be and we know from experience from knowing friends and family that a lot of impede led does exist in relationships would you stay knowing life would always be a little bit worse would you cut and run when one has been married for a long time I don’t think that that’s necessarily an easy answer nor is it always the ideal or appropriate answer so you can see this woman really struggling with what do I do now and she’s confronting him with that I’m sure classic yes be father made a fool out of me we’ve made that life I leave foolish do I think there’s a chance for them I think that she was really candid and really vulnerable and instead of defending himself instead of writing her off or pretending that she’s wrong he looks like he’s also acknowledging the pain that she’s feeling and that he’s put her in this situation so I think that if they’re willing to work through this they can make you see yangshin you there is the push how co-op went on you quit know what the sooner come what this yeah Emma I remember seeing this movie and having a really strong emotional reaction during the scene and I can feel it now this frustration this anger with Nick’s family and their expectations of him and their attempts to really derail his relationship I hired a private investigator mom she look into her past do you have any idea the scandal this would have cost for Rachel to hide something like this as someone hits a first-generation American there’s a lot of impact of having a family from a different culture and what they want for you and what they expect and what you may want for yourself but that’s not an easy choice to make and I think here you can see that he’s actually leaving his family like he physically has to to run from them and chase the woman that he’s in love with in terms of prognosis for their relationship he he seemed to choose her and in any relationship that would need to come first seriously who are these women okay um know how we have arranged marriage in my culture is it those women these are women in Pakistan who want to marry you they’re not in Pakistan so I think this one’s interesting right after crazy rotations because in both there’s this cultural component there’s a cultural expectation and it’s being confronted by this relationship that doesn’t follow standard rules there’s such a liar is there someone that you’re not lying to you I’d love to meet them because then I could tell them are you supposed to be good at having shoes as a therapist do I really appreciate the part about like oh yeah we don’t have our together and we’re not always good to be calm cool and collected and that doesn’t make this any less effective as therapists so I like that piece too you know what we call arranged marriage in Pakistan Emily marriage my cousin Rehan made an Irishwoman and he was kicked out of the family nobody is allowed to talk to him having a family that you really care about and you don’t want to disappoint and and knowing that you might by making your own choices is a hard one God was my friend prognosis ooh medium as a man sir I think that they would need to work through a lot and to be asked to sacrifice your family in the name of love is not an easy choice to make maybe one is happy but the other isn’t or vice versa just so you know nothing happened between me and Jen last night I’m tired of being second best or fake best I don’t know how often we really experience these things where we have an agreement we pretend to something you know then we fall in love like this is one of those times when I think Holly wouldn’t maybe misses the mark a little bit about reality but the idea that we have a hard time trusting our partners a imagine is pretty common okay look I leave we just go inside and talk about this yes you leave buddy wait this isn’t about Jenna and me at all no this is about you and Josh you’re still in love with this Barney there wanna be here in left Josh Morgan no what a tangled web sometimes in a relationship when we get started we’re not always being a hundred percent honest and then that might come back to haunt us later on Peter go home yeah you were never second best I think what most of us all of us want in a relationship is to feel really secure and connected and like we can trust a partner prognosis I think poor and it might be hard to recover and be really authentic really honest connected in a relationship yes I’ll order a pizza I’m sorry Harry I know it’s new usually I know you’re feeling lonely but you just can’t show up here tell me you love me and expect that to make everything all right how about this way I love that you get cold when it’s 71 degrees oh I love that it takes you an hour and a half to order a sandwich I love to get a little crinkle above your nose when you’re looking at me like I’m nuts I love that after I spend the day with you I can still smell your perfume on my clothes and I love that you are the last person I want to talk to before I go to sleep at night and it’s not because I’m lonely and it’s not big or just New Year’s Eve I came here tonight because when you realize you want to spend the rest of your life with somebody you want the rest of your life to start as soon as possible I think what we can take what we can hope for is that in relationships when we have friendship that that’s really going to help us be connected I’m like I was saying earlier to feel like we can trust that we’re secure that somebody gets us how important is it to feel like somebody understands you and to have a relationship that lasts feeling understood is so important I really hate you and also that they can fight and they can recover we’re going to have conflict with partners it’s just a matter of life but if we can find a way to come back recover and laugh and kiss yeah that would be nice prognosis I want to say you know strong they have a good strong relationship ahead of them that’s what I think anyway it’s about old friends [Music]

100 Comments

  1. Beatrice Boldorini
    Beatrice Boldorini September 7, 2019

    Her face during the scene from When Harry met Sally 😂 same 😍 that movie is the best

  2. Katie Buckley
    Katie Buckley September 7, 2019

    That scene in Love Actually makes me WEEP

  3. Stephanie Evans
    Stephanie Evans September 7, 2019

    I’m so glad that she said Make for When Harry Met Sally! My absolute most favourite romcom!

  4. AC4X
    AC4X September 7, 2019

    Who else is relieved to know that Snape and Trelawney —I mean “Harry and Karen” might actually have a chance?

  5. Amy Velasquez
    Amy Velasquez September 7, 2019

    MORE!

  6. Italiana 7
    Italiana 7 September 7, 2019

    Why does she have to speak so calm tentative and slow it's painful.

  7. Morgan MM
    Morgan MM September 7, 2019

    I wish I could give her a few movie clips of my relationship to see what her predictions are

  8. Tapiokapuddin
    Tapiokapuddin September 7, 2019

    Can she be my therapist lmao her voice is so soothing

  9. Postmann Pat
    Postmann Pat September 7, 2019

    She should've done Brokeback Mountain

  10. Brenda Villagomez
    Brenda Villagomez September 8, 2019

    Dang I was hoping she would review sierra burgess is a loser

  11. MrsLadyPerez
    MrsLadyPerez September 8, 2019

    Her name sounds very beautiful

  12. Maro Nogoy
    Maro Nogoy September 8, 2019

    I feel like I have seen her before but I just can't pinpoint where.

  13. Mathew Valiyaveetil
    Mathew Valiyaveetil September 8, 2019

    She sounds like Bonnie from family guy

  14. ThatOneIntrovert
    ThatOneIntrovert September 8, 2019

    She should do one on stranger things with mike and el

  15. Lara animeva
    Lara animeva September 8, 2019

    That's so funny because I really wish Lara Jean and Peter had broken up…

  16. Rin R
    Rin R September 8, 2019

    Ok.. but how can you judge a whole relationship by only seeing a few moments of it. People can work through stuff. Or what may seem happy for a few moments may not end up lasting. 🤔

  17. cha cha
    cha cha September 8, 2019

    her voice was so calm it made me anxious

  18. Kunika Thakare
    Kunika Thakare September 8, 2019

    Haley and Nathan made it work! One tree hill forever

  19. F. Kich.
    F. Kich. September 8, 2019

    i love her voice omg

  20. Walter Walter
    Walter Walter September 8, 2019

    Her shirt is triggering my tripofobia.

  21. M L
    M L September 8, 2019

    The therapist is so cute

  22. Mysterious Mystery
    Mysterious Mystery September 8, 2019

    To all the boys I've loved before sucksssssssd

  23. D M
    D M September 8, 2019

    Why do I watch these just reminds me no one's loved me

  24. Presi Rakuun
    Presi Rakuun September 8, 2019

    Saba should totally start a YouTube channel

  25. porcelain
    porcelain September 8, 2019

    her voice and way of speaking annoys me

  26. Pauline
    Pauline September 8, 2019

    They should’ve put in the kissing booth that’s one mess of a relationship lol

  27. Bijouled
    Bijouled September 8, 2019

    Please make videos until there are no more movies to discuss and have her talk about all of them.

  28. Haz King
    Haz King September 8, 2019

    That scene in love actually 😭 rip Alan he will be forever missed.

  29. Eryn Johnson
    Eryn Johnson September 8, 2019

    Please have her review the Fifty Shades of Grey series, personally I think they paint a controlling relationship as loving and beautiful, which is 100% unrealistic and dangerous for women to look up to. It’s only “sexy” and “acceptable” because he’s handsome and rich.

  30. Irlus
    Irlus September 8, 2019

    What about rachel/ross? Those are toooxic af

  31. Samantha Y
    Samantha Y September 9, 2019

    Her voice would be perfect for asmr

  32. Annalisa Cruwhilt
    Annalisa Cruwhilt September 9, 2019

    her voice is therapeutic on its own

  33. Lexey Parker
    Lexey Parker September 9, 2019

    Her voice is so relaxing

  34. Kat
    Kat September 9, 2019

    if my partnered cheated on me in any way, that's it. i wasn't enough to satisfy them, then I'm not staying

  35. mbrusk08
    mbrusk08 September 9, 2019

    Please do professional dancers review dance movie scenes – can spot untrained dancers and also comment on level of difficulty or how realistic situations are.

  36. Londri Flores
    Londri Flores September 9, 2019

    1:03 – 1:07

  37. Alana Demetri
    Alana Demetri September 9, 2019

    "They can fight and recover, come back, recover, laugh, and kiss…yeah, that would be nice"

  38. Louise P
    Louise P September 9, 2019

    That When Harry Met Sally scene still gets me everytime

  39. Kaeldra Caton
    Kaeldra Caton September 9, 2019

    SNAPE

  40. hipnhappenin
    hipnhappenin September 9, 2019

    Yasssss

  41. Lisa Verhenne
    Lisa Verhenne September 9, 2019

    "A couples therapist gives her diagnosis of some of cinema’s most iconic romantic comedy pairings”

    Puts To all the boys I've loved before on the list

  42. Duane Richards II
    Duane Richards II September 9, 2019

    I would totally watch this as a series lol

  43. Alyssa Mattson
    Alyssa Mattson September 9, 2019

    I could listen to her talk for hours

  44. Tasleema Khan
    Tasleema Khan September 9, 2019

    I need her to analyze Jane and Michael vs. Jane and Rafael. I want her professional opinion on which relationship is healthier lol

  45. always&forever
    always&forever September 9, 2019

    Why isn’t this girl doing asmr lmao

  46. E M
    E M September 10, 2019

    Lol I work at Anthropologie. I know where you got that top 😉

  47. Annie Shaffer
    Annie Shaffer September 10, 2019

    People talking about her voice as soothing. It’s so obnoxious to me. It’s monotone and whispery.

  48. :D :D
    :D :D September 10, 2019

    The therapist was so sweet and knowledgeable!! Please bring her back

  49. Vero H.Marin
    Vero H.Marin September 10, 2019

    The Big Sick is a maybe?? Does that mean that Kumail is gonna get a divorce? 🤔

  50. Sophie Clinnick
    Sophie Clinnick September 10, 2019

    When Harry Met sally is the best ❤️

  51. Khaleesi Dove
    Khaleesi Dove September 10, 2019

    More of this please!!!

  52. Da D
    Da D September 10, 2019

    That Love Actually scene kills me everytime Emma Thompson is great

  53. bric a brac
    bric a brac September 10, 2019

    BRING HER BACK! she has so many more movies she could review.

  54. Spock W.
    Spock W. September 10, 2019

    Lady sounds like she's perpertually on the verge of tears.

  55. Aubrey Kennedy
    Aubrey Kennedy September 10, 2019

    I'm sorry but LJ and peter are totally gonna make it

  56. ArtichokeHunter
    ArtichokeHunter September 10, 2019

    She doesn't think if you pretend to be with someone long enough and go through enough together that it would be normal to develop feelings? Strong disagree, I think unless you're an actor it's hard to act like something is true for a long time without the lines blurring and starting to wonder if it's true.

  57. I_love_the_ beach
    I_love_the_ beach September 10, 2019

    To all the boys I've loved before is legit my favroute movie ever

  58. Alice Lily
    Alice Lily September 10, 2019

    When Harry Met Sally is my fave rom com, Harry and sally are just the purest and most perfect :))

  59. Katie C
    Katie C September 10, 2019

    i could listen to her speak all day every day

  60. Aurora De Angelis
    Aurora De Angelis September 10, 2019

    Oh, I am so relieved Harry and Sally make it.

  61. Asma Haque
    Asma Haque September 10, 2019

    RON AND HERMIONE???

  62. Brenna H
    Brenna H September 10, 2019

    Her voice, is so soothing.

  63. Esme Wayne
    Esme Wayne September 10, 2019

    Can she do audio books or something? I love her voice so much. I want her to put me to sleep.

  64. Katie Budd
    Katie Budd September 10, 2019

    I want her to read me a bedtime story, her voice is so calming and soothing

  65. cherie bomb
    cherie bomb September 10, 2019

    This therapist looks exactly like Sloan from Ferris Bueller’s Day Off!

  66. Clarissa Sandjaja
    Clarissa Sandjaja September 11, 2019

    She should've done "10 Things I Hate About You" ~~~

  67. Artsnimation
    Artsnimation September 11, 2019

    Most of these are not romantic comedies??

  68. sevara salimova
    sevara salimova September 11, 2019

    Her voice pisses me off so much. Like omg

  69. Chandra Locke
    Chandra Locke September 11, 2019

    The Big Sick is actually rlly good❤️❤️

  70. Nutsh3lle
    Nutsh3lle September 11, 2019

    Imagine A Star is Born, now that was chaotic

  71. Emily Bluntt
    Emily Bluntt September 11, 2019

    tbh I hated her voice, it was too calm

  72. Andrea Miller
    Andrea Miller September 11, 2019

    I hate most romance films because the people are usually unlikable or do the stupidest, most unrealistic things. However, despite the zany,unrealistic set-up, I absolutely love While You Were Sleeping. The cast is so dang likeable, the leads have great chemistry and are basically really nice people and you just k ow they're going to make it. It also works as a warm and fuzzy Christmas film.

  73. Linden Peters
    Linden Peters September 11, 2019

    Great video, so interesting! But I would bet to differ on the "iconic" description. The only iconic couple in this was When Harry Met Sally, and mayyybe Love Actually and 500 Days of Summer. Movie suggestions that are truly iconic (not all are comedies):
    Gone With The Wind
    Adam's Rib
    His Girl Friday
    The Quiet Man
    As Good As It Gets
    The Princess Bride
    Sabrina
    The Notebook
    Fifty Shades of Grey
    Sleepless in Seattle
    Pride and Prejudice (the A&E miniseries)
    Guess Who's Coming to Dinner
    Cold Mountain
    Philadelphia Story
    Breakfast at Tiffany's
    Any of these would make for a fascinating video!

  74. Gladys
    Gladys September 11, 2019

    I like when she said for the Big Sick ‘medium’
    Obviously she hasn’t seen the movie or heard of it, since they are married in real life.

  75. avismoon
    avismoon September 11, 2019

    The way she speaks is so soothing, I want to go to her for therapy.

  76. A. L.
    A. L. September 11, 2019

    She needs to do this for Gossip Girl!

  77. KaityPea3
    KaityPea3 September 11, 2019

    Sooo I just realized that Snape and Professor Trelawney are a couple in Love Actually 😂

  78. Kate Em
    Kate Em September 11, 2019

    500 Days of Summer is the best movie

  79. Superuniversal
    Superuniversal September 11, 2019

    she needs to do asmr

  80. Nicole Nichol
    Nicole Nichol September 11, 2019

    I want to hear her thoughts on Gomez & Morticia Adam's.

  81. Val
    Val September 12, 2019

    2:05 snape snape serverus snape

  82. Lucia Welch
    Lucia Welch September 12, 2019

    WHERE ARE MY F*CKING SHOES???????

  83. apalaces21
    apalaces21 September 12, 2019

    Please make more of these!!

  84. Katterina Qualls
    Katterina Qualls September 12, 2019

    Can she read me bedtime stories?

  85. Ruggedly handsome
    Ruggedly handsome September 12, 2019

    The part about "To all the boys I've loved before" where she says "I feel like this is when Hollywood misses the mark a little bit" was so funny to me because the plot of that movie literally happened to me

  86. Chana Cohen
    Chana Cohen September 12, 2019

    Why did this video make me cry? Lol

  87. Princesa Bermudo
    Princesa Bermudo September 12, 2019

    her voice is low-key ASMR

  88. pancakes and bacon
    pancakes and bacon September 12, 2019

    When does her ASMR channel come out?? Her voice is so sooooothing

  89. Profoundcake
    Profoundcake September 12, 2019

    I cant handle her voice. Might work for a therapist's office, but not a recorded video.

  90. Margaret Aprison
    Margaret Aprison September 12, 2019

    AKA "Couples Therapist Reviews all my favorite romantic comedies"

  91. YouShotMyRobot
    YouShotMyRobot September 12, 2019

    Can she do all the relationships in Downton Abbey. Ive never seen so many toxic relationships in one show before.

  92. maxime leroy
    maxime leroy September 12, 2019

    she seems like the loveliest person in the world

  93. Meaningful Living
    Meaningful Living September 12, 2019

    Why does she whisper?

  94. Jack T
    Jack T September 12, 2019

    Why did this make me cry😂

  95. Andria Mac
    Andria Mac September 13, 2019

    if you haven't seen when Harry met Sally, watch it

  96. Aqueduct Nomad
    Aqueduct Nomad September 13, 2019

    I love her voice. lol

  97. Pusher Love Man
    Pusher Love Man September 13, 2019

    I was very interested in what she would say about The Big Sick, considering that turned into a real long-term marriage!

  98. Lulu Who Is ABSOLUTELY NORMAL
    Lulu Who Is ABSOLUTELY NORMAL September 13, 2019

    I knew Love Actually would be on here!

  99. The Snailiest Snail
    The Snailiest Snail September 13, 2019

    She really does have a calming voice

  100. Caiti ❤
    Caiti ❤ September 13, 2019

    I want her to be my therapist, she has such a soothing voice and really does seem to know what she’s talking about. It’s like she was meant to be a therapist!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *